Western Balkan States Create Roaming-free Zone

Effective 1 July 2021, six Western Balkan states with a combined population of 18 million people (Albania, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Serbia) have eliminated all roaming charges within their region.

The move fulfils an agreement made by leaders at the Second Western Balkans Digital Summit held in Belgrade in April 2019, and will begin the process of integrating Western Balkan telecommunication and data transfer capabilities. It is also an important step in bringing the region’s telecommunication policies in line with EU Digital Single Market requirements.

The current agreement will be followed by further steps to reduce roaming charges between the Western Balkans and the EU itself.